WW I Hellenic Red Cross Medal to American Nurses

The Hellenic Red Cross 1916-1920 medal was instituted in 1920 and was awarded to Red Cross Nurses who served on the fronts during World War I (1916-18 after military hospitals were established in Salonica), the Campaign in Russia (Russian Civil War 1919), and the Asia Minor Campaign (Greco-Turkish War 1919-22).

American Red Cross Nurse Emily Simmonds at Salonica

Hellenic 1916-1920 Red Cross Medal with Clasp Epidemics

The obverse of the Greek medal features a red enamel Geneva Cross surrounded by a wreath and the inscription HELLENIC RED CROSS 1916-1920. The reverse contains five straight-line Greek place names translated to English as: (1) MACEDONIA; (2) EPIRUS; (3) THRACE; (4) ASIA MINOR and (5) THESSALY. Three clasps (DEVOTION, FRONT, EPIDEMICS) were initially authorized for award with the medal based on individual eligibility. Later, a fourth medal clasp, SOLIDARITY, was also authorized.

Close-up of Obverse and Reverse

Hellenic Red Cross 1916-1920 with Four Clasps

The medal was awarded to eight American nurses who served during WW I: Mary L. Boyle, Margaret Dingledine, Gerardine Grumdy, Elisabeth Murlles, Minta Reinhart, Mand Revel, M. S. Spellinan, and Edna Steiger. Scant information about this group or their duties is available.

Website Maintained by Keith Emroll